Transition Japan: Coming Soon

A man at a festival in Kanazawa, Japan.
A man dressed as an oni (mythical Japanese demon) at a festival in Kanazawa, Japan.

I recently presented at an information session for aspiring teachers and translators who are interested in working in Japan through the Japan Exchange and Teaching Program (JET).  In addition to gushing about my Japan experience, I received a number of thoughtful questions from prospective applicants.  Sometimes, I forget that Japan can seem so mysterious for people who have never visited or worked there.  Japan now feels like a second home to me, and it’s a place I encourage everyone to visit if they have the means.  But most people who do spend time here go through some form of culture shock.  In this series, Transition Japan, I hope to “demystify” the Land of the Rising Sun and respond to questions about the JET Program and about life as a teacher in Japan in general.  The inaugural post will be about my apartment (size, rent, neighbors). Please post any questions you would like me to answer in the comments section.

Leave a Reply

